The Humility of Art

45d241ae4c3511e3baae12c7a759b495_7

My first and biggest vintage pineapple doily.

I’m already running late for a 9 o’clock job interview.  I googled the place but still this is my first time to be around so I’m also guessing my way.  But instead of feeling agitated that I might not get there on time, I was feeling good.  I feel like the child in me is running and laughing by my side.  She wants to take this slowly and bathe in sunlight.  I pushed my worry aside and slowed down.  It’s not that I’ve given up on the chance already; it’s just that I also don’t want this opportunity to walk at peace to pass me by.  Luckily, I found my way, I got there on time and I enjoyed the morning sun.

As I was waiting for an instruction, I still feel light because of how glorious my day started.  I wanted so much to be in the here and now.  I still wanted to slow down.  I placed my feet on the wooden floor, straighten my back as I sit down and I tried to focus well on my breathing.  In.  Out. Out. Out.   Yes, three stops for the release.  But I think any kind of breathing exercise will do.  The goal remains the same – to stay focused and be here and now.

I needed more.  I took my phone and found exactly what I’m looking for.  The image above presents my first vintage pineapple doily.  I am planning to frame it because of the inspiration I found online that look really good.  I have crocheted since I was about 11 years old.  On and off through the years.  And I never really contemplated any of my finished works.  All along I was doing it to pass the time and to relax because I enjoy it so much.  But on this morning, I realized one important thing.  All along I was making art.  This, right here, is art.  I am a slightly frustrated artist who cannot draw without copying an image.  I’m also afraid of messing up with colors.  And I always pray to God to bless me with hands that can create beautiful things.  And this morning, it dawned on me.

I am making art.  And I felt humbled.  I was overwhelmed with my own emotions that I almost cried.  I was sitting there, just waiting for an interview and for the first time, I realized that I am blessed with hands that create beautiful things.  My friends and other people have always been appreciating my works and all their words and reactions make me feel good.  But it’s different when the appreciation comes from within.  And now I know.

We don’t have to be afraid to appreciate the good things that we can do.  We have nothing more to fear if it’s a desire, a goal, or a wish that we’ve asked for all along.  The experience I had on this particular day was very refreshing.  I felt renewed from the inside.  I felt more secure and at ease with myself and the world around me.

We all get caught up in our everyday tasks.  Things that we are expected to do just because.  So for most of us, it is difficult to slow down.  Therefore, it is important to find ways how we can continuously be connected to our core.  Art is one way and I found mine here.  But there’s a lot more ways waiting to be tapped and tried.

The world needs more love and smiling faces.  And it is not impossible because it all starts from the inside.

Share your ideas!

